Work In Progress: Apple Pie

I can’t make pie. There, I said it.

I’ve tried making all sorts of pies: apple, chocolate, lemon meringue, pumpkin, etc. I’ve only ever gotten ONE to turn out: a low-fat pumpkin pie recipe I found at my gym.

I can make a crust, but for some reason, the insides of my pies never seen to set up. I’ve used flour, corn starch, and an abundance of sugar, but with no success. I haven’t tried tapioca, mainly because I never have it in the house.

So, when my stepmother-in-law visited me a few weeks ago, I begged her to show me what I was doing wrong. We made a pie together (I made the crust while she was in charge of the insides) and–amazingly–it turned out pretty well! I could sit down and enjoy a slice of apple pie without thinking: yum… apple soup.

Since I’m no expert on the innards of a pie, I’ll share with you the crust that made the beautiful pie pictured above. It’s rather simple!

Pie Crust

Ingredients

  • 4 cups flour
  • 1 stick butter, slightly softened
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup water

Directions

  1. Cut the butter into the flour and add just enough water to not have any dry flour (ie no powder in the bowl).
  2. Roll it out, fold in half, and repeat until the dough comes together (usually about 6-8 times). Cut in half.
  3. Roll out two pie crusts and congratulate yourself for getting that far (at least, that’s what I do!).

If you want to spruce it up or use it for quiche, you can add salt to the dough too. For the top, I spritzed the crust with water and sprinkled on some sugar.

That’s it.

When I figure out how to make the insides look like the iconic, beautiful apple pie, I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

