Lasagna Soup Recipe Remake: The “I don’t have half of these ingredients” version

I am absolutely horrible at remembering what staples I have on hand or what ingredients I need to buy at the grocery store. That’s why when I saw this “Tastes Like Lasagna Soup” recipe on Pinterest, I thought: I CAN MAKE THIS TONIGHT!

So, about four ingredients in, I realized I didn’t have some of the ingredients needed. Oopsie!

Still, I’ve decided this recipe lends itself greatly to alterations. It turned out delicious, despite my tweaking.

So, if you are interested, here is how my dish went.

Lasagna Soup: The I Don’t Have Half of These Ingredients” Version
Modified from Paula Deen
Yields: 6-8 Servings | Time: 1 hour

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbsp dried Italian seasoning or various fresh herbs to taste: thyme, oregano, sage, basil, chives, and rosemary
  • 1 14oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can tomato soup
  • 2 cans worth of water
  • 2 tsp chicken bullion
  • pinch of sugar
  • 2 cups (dry) rotini pasta
  • 1 cup parmesan
  • 4 mozzarella sticks shredded in a food processor (I was SO HAPPY when I found these!)

Directions

  1. Brown the ground beef, onions, bell pepper, and garlic in a medium sized soup pot. When the meat is just about done cooking, throw in your fresh (or dried) herbs.
  2. Add the diced tomatoes and tomato soup, then fill each can with water and add that too. Stir in the chicken bullion and sugar. (You can also choose to sub the water and bullion for chicken broth.)
  3. When the water starts to boil, add the pasta and cook for 5 minutes, or until the pasta is very close to being done.
  4. Add your cheeses and continue cooking until the pasta is fully cooked and the cheeses are starting to melt.

Nutrition
Assuming 6 servings and using low-fat mozzarella

Calories 408
Calories from Fat 122
Total Fat 13.6g
Saturated Fat 7.2g
Trans Fat 0.0g
Cholesterol 91m
Sodium 1253mg
Total Carbohydrates 31.6g
Dietary Fiber 2.6g
Sugars 8.6g
Protein 39.4g
Vitamin A 24%
Vitamin C 68%
Calcium 36%
Iron 26%

I pretty much followed the original directions exactly, except I threw the mozzarella in with the parmesan and didn’t broil it. It made nice little melted strings of mozzarella throughout the soup.

For all of the ridiculousness of substitutions, it worked. I would make this again in a heartbeat, maybe even instead of traditional lasagna. (Don’t tell my husband I said that, he loves lasagna!)

I loved it as is, but I thought I would pass along my husband’s suggestions: cut the added water in half so that the dish was more of a sauce than a soup and a little less pasta. I will note that by the time these became leftovers, the pasta had absorbed a lot of the extra water he didn’t like.

Leave a Reply

